8th SP To End Its Term On June 30

May 31, 2016

City of Malolos - “And now the end is near and so I face the final curtain…” so goes the poignant lyrics of the very popular song “My Way” popularized by Frank Sinatra, as well as by other famous singers like Elvis Presley, Matt Monroe and Paul Anka. (Incidentally, Anka composed the lyrics of the song the melody of which was based on the French song “Comm d’habitude.”).

And just like the song, this is also the feelings of the members of the 8th Sangguniang Panlalawigan (2013-2016) which is going to end its term come June 30, 2016. Soon, the 8th SP shall be relegated as an important chapter in the annals of the historic past of the province of Bulacan. 

As the 8th SP ends its term, it will surely leave a significant legacy that will be considered as a significant contribution to the rich tradition of law-making in the province. This will include pro-active legislations and noteworthy programs and projects that will be continuously implemented in the province. 

Eventually, the members of the 8th SP have to part ways and go in different directions—some of them will come back to become members of the soon to arrive 9th SP, while the rest have to go somewhere. Those who are sure to come back to serve for another term are Vice-Governor Daniel R. Fernando, now on his third and last term, together with the following: First District- Board Member Therese Cheryll B. Ople and Board Member Felix V. Ople, both third termer; Second District- Enrique V. Dela Cruz, Jr., also now in his third term; Third District- Board Member Rino V. Castro, also a third termer; Fourth District- Allan Ray A. Baluyut, a second termer. They will be joined by the newly elected board members.

Those who are going to leave for good include First District Board Member Michael C. Fermin who lost in his bid for Congressman, Second District Board Member Ramon R. Posadas, a third termer, Third District Board Member Norynil B. Sulit-Villanueva who lost in her bid for SB member of San Miguel, Fourth District Board Member Enrique A. Delos Santos, Jr., who won a seat for councilor in the First District of the City of San Jose Del Monte, and Fourth District Board Member Eulogio C. Sarmiento III who did not run in any position.

Meanwhile, the two Ex-Officio members of the 8th SP, namely Board Member Josef Andrew T. Mendoza, provincial president of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL)-Bulacan Chapter, who incidentally won as councilor of Bocaue for his second term, and Board Member Mark Cholo I. Violago, provincial president of the Liga ng mga Barangay who did not run in the just-concluded election, will stay as members of the 9th SP. However, their tenures may either be continued or shortened or they may be replaced, depending on the result of the elections of new set of officers of their respective leagues.